Awards Ceremony Honors Outstanding Students on the Harrisburg Campus
Web Editor - Published: May 2, 2013
In her opening remarks, Associate Provost and Dean Linda L. Ammons called the Annual Harrisburg Campus Student Awards “An event that I look forward to with great anticipation. The ceremony was held in the late afternoon on Tuesday, April 30th in Room A180 of the Administration Building.

Following the welcome from Dean Ammons, Dean of Students Keith E. Sealing took over the program to announce the awards, with assistance from: Professor Juliet M. Moringiello, who presented the American Bankruptcy Institute Medal of Excellence; Professor Michael J. Cozzillio, who presented the John A. Fillion Memorial Award; adjunct professor Daniel R. Schuckers, who presented the Commonwealth Court Historical Society – Judge Alexander F. Babieri Award; Associate Professor Anna P. Hemingway, who presented the Widener Law-Harrisburg Best First Year Appellate Brief Award; and Professor John L. Gedid, who presented the Outstanding Law and Government Student Award.

The program closed with the presentation of the Dean’s Award and the President’s Award, which were awarded by Dean Ammons and Widener University President James T. Harris III respectively.

Matthew Curran and Rachel Hadrick shared the Dean’s Award, which is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding legal aptitude, exemplary service, significant leadership skills and the potential to become an outstanding member of the legal community.

The President’s Award, which is awarded to a second-year student who has demonstrated high scholastic achievement and possess high potential for meaningful future contributions to the law school, the community, and the profession, went to Camille Howlett.

Tricia Lontz was named the class Valedictorian and also received the Distinguished Service Award.

A complete listing of the other awards follows.

Award Recipients

Alfred Avins Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Curran
George C. Blissman, Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Ami Patel
Honorable James C. Crumlish Scholarship: Katherine Snyder
Edmund Dobrowolski Memorial Scholarship: Katy Nixon
Nancy & Howard Finkelman Scholarship: Rosina Stambaugh
Pamela K. Karpouzis Memorial Scholarship: Ashley Reigle
Thomas S. Lodge Memorial Scholarship: Christopher King
The Bruce M. and Elizabeth M. Monroe Scholarship: Liana Walters
John C. Warrington Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Butz

Achievement Awards
ALI CLE Scholarship & Leadership Award: Ryan Molitoris
American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Eric D. Turner Award: Cayla Amsley
American Bankruptcy Institute Medal of Excellence: Whitney Snyder
James S. Bowman American Inn of Court Award: Gabor Ovari
John A. Fillion Memorial Award: Hugh Taylor
Commercial Bar Review Provider Awards: Corey Korinda, Thomas McQuillan, and Samantha Smith
Commonwealth Court Historical Society – Judge Alexander F. Barbieri Award: Michelle Latta
E. John Wherry, Jr. Award: Alla Mayzel
International Academy of Trial Lawyers Student Advocacy Award: Rebekka Vallandingham
Legal Research & Writing Award: Matthew Curran and Casey Johnson-Welsh
Widener Law – Harrisburg Best First-Year Appellate Brief Award: Jesse Rhodeside
Outstanding Clinical Advocacy Award: Lucas Csovelak and Abbie Trone
Outstanding Law & Government Student Award: James Strupe
Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award: Corey Korinda
Dean Anthony J. Santoro Outstanding Service Award: Kristin Potter
Moot Court Honor Society Outstanding Executive Board Member: Jessica Litke
Trial Advocacy Honor Society Outstanding Executive Board Member: Alla Mayzel
Widener Law Journal Award for Distinguished Legal Scholarship: Kristie Falbo
Widener University School of Law Outstanding Service Awards: Kristie Falbo, Rachel Hadrick, David Humphreys, Michelle Latta, Meghan McNaughton, Roma Patel, Julie Slabinski, Stephen Starr, James Strupe, and Janaki Theivakumaran