Awards Ceremony Honors Outstanding Students on the Harrisburg Campus
Web Editor - Published: May 2, 2014
“It makes everyone here at Widener very proud to have had the chance to work with these great students,” said Interim Dean Robyn Meadows during the annual Harrisburg campus Student Awards Ceremony held on Thursday, April 24th.

Meadows also acknowledged the contributions of family and friends, saying, “We know that you are really behind their success,” and she encouraged the students to be mindful of community service opportunities after they graduated, observing that “Being a lawyer really is being in a service profession.”

Camille Howlett received the Dean’s Award, which is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding legal aptitude, exemplary service, significant leadership skills and the potential to become an outstanding member of the legal community. Howlett was also named the class Valedictorian.

President James T. Harris III was on hand to present the President’s Award, which is awarded to a second-year student who has demonstrated high scholastic achievement and possess high potential for meaningful future contributions to the law school, the community, and the profession. Harris presented the award to Richard Sgrignoli.

Observing that there is “Always a need for justice” and that lawyers make sure that justice gets served, Harris called the legal profession “one of the highest callings.”

A complete listing of the other awards follows.

Award Recipients

Alfred Avins Memorial Scholarship: Mitchell Jones
George C. Blissman, Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Brett Sprau
Honorable James C. Crumlish Scholarship: Alexander Leggieri
Edmund Dobrowolski Memorial Scholarship: Katherine Snyder
Pamela K. Karpouzis Memorial Scholarship: Valecia Sills
Paul Isaac Leiter Memorial Scholarship: Kathleen Chap
The Bruce M. and Elizabeth M. Monroe Scholarship: Brett Sprau
William I. Schaffer Memorial Scholarship: Philip McCarthy

Achievement Awards
ALI CLE Scholarship & Leadership Award: Laura Antonuk, Philip McCarthy, Katy Nixon, Andrew Race, and Cassandra Vasicak
American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Eric D. Turner Award: Morgan Davis
American Bankruptcy Institute Medal of Excellence: Jerika Cummiskey
James S. Bowman American Inn of Court Award: Steven Shearer
John A. Fillion Memorial Award: Timothy McHugh
Commercial Bar Review Provider Awards: Katherine Costlow, Celia Fasnacht, Erin Greene, and April Schnatz
Commonwealth Court Historical Society – Judge Alexander F. Barbieri Award: Alexis Timari
E. John Wherry, Jr. Award: Carla Arias
International Academy of Trial Lawyers Student Advocacy Award: Katie Adam and Langdon Ramsburg
Legal Research & Writing Award: Camille Howlett and Langdon Ramsburg
Widener Law – Harrisburg Best First-Year Appellate Brief Award: Richard Sgrignoli
Outstanding Clinical Advocacy Award: Sarah Willets
Outstanding Law & Government Student Award: Melissa Chapaska
Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award: Jamilah Espinosa and Nicholas Peters
Dean Anthony J. Santoro Outstanding Service Award: Jessica Boyles
Moot Court Honor Society Outstanding Executive Board Member: Katharine Costlow
Trial Advocacy Honor Society Outstanding Executive Board Member: Carla Arias
Widener Law Journal Award for Distinguished Legal Scholarship: Jennifer Robinson
Distinguished Service Award: Jamilah Espinosa
Widener University School of Law Outstanding Service Awards: Carla Arias, Timothy Bishop, Mark Calore, Morgan Davis, Alicia Emili, Mitchell Jones, Yasmine Naamo, Jesse Rhodeside, Katherine Riggleman-Thomas, and Michelle Santos.