Dean Ammons to be Honored by Delaware Barristers Association
Web Editor - Published: August 14, 2012
Ammons500pxWidener Law Dean Linda L. Ammons will be among the honorees at the inaugural Louis L. Redding Benefit and Awards Gala to be held on Friday, November 9th, where she will receive the Excellence in Education Award.

Put together by the Delaware Barristers Association, the gala will benefit the Louis L. Redding House, a nonprofit museum and historical landmark on East 10th Street in Wilmington. The Delaware Barristers Association is a non-profit affiliate of the National Bar Association. The Redding House Foundation, Inc. is a non-profit corporation that owns, operates, and maintains the Louis L. Redding House as a museum and community center to commemorate Mr. Redding’s legacy and his contributions the to civil rights struggle and the law.

The Excellence in Education Award honors and recognizes “ a leader of an academic institution who has made it imperative for men and women of all races, ethnic backgrounds and cultures to share in the experience of a first-class education.”

Montê Squire ’05, an attorney in the intellectual property and commercial litigation practice section at Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP and a Delaware Barristers Association Officer praised Dean Ammons for her “involvement not only in promoting the law school, but also the way that she has immersed herself in the bar here, and how she has made the law school available for bar functions.”

“She’s really been an active member of the legal community here in the state,” Squire said citing in particular her willingness to conduct an independent review into the matter of pediatrician Earl Bradley at the request of Governor Jack Markell and her commitment to all aspects of diversity. “We thought it was appropriate to say thank you for all that she does,” he concluded.

The Honorable Gregory M. Sleet, a Widener Law adjunct, will also be honored at the gala. He will join the Honorable Virginia A. Seitz and the Honorable Joshua W. Martin, III as recipients of the Thurgood Marshall Award that honors and recognizes “members of the bench and bar who have been dynamic and progressive leaders and have tirelessly sought to improve and facilitate the administration of justice for all. These individuals will be recognized for their exemplary leadership, commitment, and contributions to the community and legal profession.”

Stacey J. Mobley, Esquire will receive the Louis L. Redding Lifetime Achievement Honorarium “in honor and recognition of an individual who has made a lifelong commitment to diversity and promoted the business case for diversity in academia and in the legal profession.”

For more information on the gala, visit the Delaware Barristers Association’s website.