Awards Ceremony Honors Outstanding Delaware Students
Web Editor - Published: April 28, 2010
“I’m delighted to welcome all of you this afternoon to this wonderful event,” said Widener Law Dean Linda L. Ammons as she opened the Annual Student Awards Ceremony for the Delaware campus on Wednesday, April 21st, 2010. The ceremony took place in a packed Ruby R. Vale Moot Courtroom.

Ammons thanked the award recipients, saying, “These students are the heart of this law school.” She thanked the parents, spouses, families, law school donors, and alumni in attendance for all that they do and implored the students, “Continue to strive for excellence in all you do, and continue to help those in need."

During the ceremony, Associate Dean for the Office of Student Affairs Susan Goldberg and Legal Writing Professor Maryann Brown read off the names of the Scholarship recipients, Director of Bar Programs Micah J. Yarborough announced the fellowships and commercial bar review awards, and Assistant Dean for the Office of Student Affairs Edmund B. Luce and Professor Alice Eakin announced the Achievement Awards.

Angela C. Whitesell received the Dean’s Award, which is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding legal aptitude, exemplary service, significant leadership skills and the potential to become an outstanding member of the legal community. A Wolcott Fellow and Research Editor for the Delaware Journal of Corporate Law, Whitesell regularly achieved Dean’s List status during her time at Widener Law.

The President’s Award, which is awarded to a second-year student who has demonstrated high scholastic achievement and possess high potential for meaningful future contributions to the law school, the community, and the profession, went to David B. DiDonato. Widener University President James T. Harris III presented the award to David, saying, “Continue the good work that you’re doing. We’re so proud of you.”

A complete listing of the awards follows.

Award Recipients

Alfred Avins Memorial Scholarship: Thomas J. Hogans
Bank of America Scholarship: Keith M. Horner
The Howard M. Berg Scholarship: Michael J. Follett
The E. Wallace Chadwick Memorial Scholarship: Kelly C. Pickhaver and William C. Pietroangelo
The Harvey Alan Chernoff Memorial Scholarship: Daniel P. Robinson
The Esther F. Clark Memorial Scholarship: William M. Alleman Jr.
The Honorable Joseph W. deFuria Scholarship: James J. McCarrie II
Delaware Association of Lawyers’ Spouses Scholarship: Agatha C. Mingos
The Honorable William Duffy Memorial Scholarship: Jessica L. Boyer
Friends of Widener University School of Law Scholarship: Kyle F. Dunkle
The Honey F. Golby Memorial Scholarship: Geoffrey R. Myers and Dawn Kurtz Crompton
The Fairfax Leary, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Andrew J. Rennick
The Paul Isaac Leiter Memorial Scholarship: Alisha G. Moses
The Thomas S. Lodge Memorial Scholarship: Tanya S. Sellers
The Bruce M. and Elizabeth M. Monroe Endowed Scholarship: Angelique R. Fahey and Rodney M. Taneyhill
Pennsylvania Bar Foundation Minority Scholarship: Ancy P. Oommen
Pennsylvania Bar Foundation Scholarship: Michael J. Follett
The Angelina and Victor Piccone Memorial Scholarship: Deanene V. Berry
Dean Anthony J. Santoro Scholarship: Charles M. Gibbs
The Alexander V. Sarcione, Jr. Scholarship: Jonathan M. Harrar
William I. Schaffer Memorial Scholarship: Daniel W. Whitney
The Taishoff Family Endowed Scholarship: Richard C. Kohler
The John C. Warrington Memorial Scholarship: Morrison K. Fairbairn

The Chadwick Constitutional Education Fellowship: Nicole L. Phillps and James J. McCarrie II
The Domestic Violence Research and Advocacy Fellowship: Ashley L. Tito
The DuPont Public Interest Fellowships: Lucienne M. Pulliam and Lauren M. O’Connell
The Josiah Oliver Wolcott Fellowships: William M. Alleman Jr., Ryan C. Cicoski, Suzanne O. Lufadeju, Brett T. Norton, and Angela C. Whitesell.

Commercial Bar Review Awards
Barbri of Pennsylvania and New Jersey: Andrew M. Bell, James J. McCarrie II, and Vazken A. Zerounian
Kaplan PMBR: Jessica L. Boyer
Themis Bar Review: Christina M. Marinakis

Achievement Awards The Honorable Helen S. Balick Award: Paul R. Brazil
The Howard M. Berg Award: Benjamin A. Smyth
The William J. Conner Memorial Award for Administrative Law: Cristopher J. Costello
The Nicole Cullison Memorial Award: Michael Paich
The Honorable Joseph W. deFuria Award: Dawn Kurtz Crompton
The Judge J. Cullen Ganey Criminal Procedure Award: William M. Alleman Jr.
The Graham Foundation Award: Robert Bailey Jr.
GreenWatch Institute Scholarship Award in Memory of Jerry Shields: Richard G. Scott
GreenWatch Institute Award in Memory of Charles J. Zencey: Corey J. Bolander
The Reed Hamilton Memorial Award: Kristopher A. Kachline
The Zelda K. Herrmann Memorial Cup Award: Ashley L. Tito
The Patricia N. Holston Memorial Award for Public Interest Pro Bono Service: Lauren M. O’Connell
International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award: Caroline G. Jones
Lindsay Law Library Award: Ryan S. Carlson and Andrew J. Rennick
The Thomas P. Lomax and Nicholas Theodore Memorial Award: Jennifer L. Dryer
The Most Promising Civil Litigator Award: Periann Doko
The Lucinda Peipher Memorial Award: Mary J. Larkin
The Philadelphia Trial Lawyers Association James J. Manderino Award for Trial Advocacy: Michael D. DiCindio
The Alexander V. Sarcione, Jr. Memorial Award: Marian Akrami
The Dean Arthur A. Weeks Outstanding Service Award: Heather C. Brand
E. John Wherry Jr. Award: Angela W. Friend
William J. and Ella C. Wolf Award in Real Property Law: Maximillian J. Muller
Charles J. Zencey Memorial Award: Nicholas S. Jajko

Outstanding Service Awards: Jennifer L. Bailey, Heather C. Brand, Charles M. Gibbs, Sean A. Meluney, Jody S. Roselle, Ashley L. Tito, and Angela C. Whitesell.

Dean’s Minority Student Scholarship: Roshin Thomas