Southwestern Law School Team Wins 22nd Annual Ruby R. Vale Competition
Web Editor - Published: March 24, 2010
The Southwestern University School of Law team of Crystal Lara, Patricia Rosman, and Brian Yeretzian won the 22nd Annual Ruby R. Vale Interschool Corporate Moot Court Competition on Sunday, March 21st, 2010, defeating the team of Paul Chichester, Kelin Murphy, and Jonathan Simpson from Mercer University’s Walter F. George School of Law.

The bench for the final round of the competition featured Delaware Supreme Court Justices Jack B. Jacobs and Henry duPont Ridgely as well as Vice Chancellors J. Travis Laster and Donald F. Parsons, Jr. of the Delaware Court of Chancery and 2010 Ruby R. Vale Distinguished Scholar William T. Allen, a former Chancellor of the Delaware Court of Chancery.

Competition Chairman Robert Bailey Jr. and the Executive Board of the Delaware Moot Court Honor Society served as gracious hosts. Widener Law Associate Professor Paul L. Regan, Acting Director of the Institute of Delaware Corporate and Business Law, and Ruby R. Vale Professor of Corporate Law Lawrence A. Hamermesh - currently on leave to serve as attorney fellow with the Office of Chief Counsel of the Division of Corporation Finance at the Securities and Exchange Commission - served as the competition advisors. Professor Hamermesh authored the competition problem.

The Brooklyn Law School team of Jessica Djilani, Natalie Mayo, and Melanie Speight won the Best Brief honor and Tim Anzenberger of Mississippi College School of Law earned recognition as the Best Oral Advocate.