Widener Law Team Wins Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition Regional
Web Editor - Published: February 10, 2009
moot win 2009

Adrienne L. Robertson, Sylvia K. Siegel, Professor Leslie A. Johnson, Angelina W. Freind.

On Saturday, February 7th, Widener Law students Sylvia Siegel, Adrienne Robertson, and Angelina Freind won the New York regional portion of the The Saul Lefkowitz  Moot Court Competition, advancing to the Nationals, which will be held in Washington, DC on Saturday, March 21st.

In addition to placing first among the East Regional teams at the competition – which was held at the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, 500 Pearl Street, New York, New York – the team also won awards for Best Brief and Best Oral Advocates.

“I could not be more proud of our team or more grateful to our coach, Professor Leslie Johnson,” said 3rd year student Sylvia K Siegel. “Bringing the First Place Award, Best Brief Award, and Best Oralist Award back home to Widener is a tremendous honor. We’ve worked so hard for the last months and have learned so much about trademark and unfair competition law,” she added.

“I couldn’t be more proud,” said Professor Leslie Johnson, who will continue to coach and help prepare the team in advance of the National round.

Established in 1990 in honor of Saul Lefkowitz, Chairman of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, The Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition is the only competition in the United States with a focus on trademark and unfair competition law. The competition consists of Regional rounds in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and San Francisco, followed by the Nationals in Washington, D.C. The Eastern Region won by the Widener Law team consists of thirteen states running from Maine down to Virginia, and the competition included teams from William and Mary Law School, Georgetown University Law Center, Boston College, University of Virginia, Rutgers Law, Seton Hall, and Franklin Pierce Law School.

Sylvia K. Siegel is a 3rd year student and serves as the President of the Moot Court Honor Society and is an Associate Editor of the Widener Law Review. Angelina W. Friend, a 2nd year student, is a member of the Moot Court Honor Society and the Treasurer of the Republican Law Caucus. Adrienne L. Robertson is a 2nd year Extended Division student balancing a full-time job with a family and school, and she too is a member of the Moot Court Honor Society.

Dean Linda Ammons and the entire Widener Law Community congratulate Sylvia, Angelina, and Adrienne and wish them the best of luck in the next round!