Moot Court congratulates competitors & faculty coaches
Published: April 23, 2007
The Moot Court Honor Society proudly congratulates Eric Lubin, Steven Jones and Michael Mattson for receiving a Second Place Brief Award and advancing to the Quarter-Final Round of the National Criminal Procedure Competition hosted by Seton Hall University School of Law on March 30th and 31st. The team, coached by Professor Leonard Sosnov, and led by Moot Court Vice President Michael Mattson, faced fierce competition in their preliminary round arguments but the team's combined brief and oral argument scores placed them in the top eight of the thirty-two competing teams. In the Quarter Final Round, Widener faced off against Boston College who went on to win the competition. In addition, congratulations go to Michael Mattson whose combined argument scores ranked him 7th out of 79 competitors. All in all, the Moot Court Honor Society has had another outstanding year of interscholastic competitions. Each team faced fierce competition and demonstrated to judges across the country the caliber of Widener students. Additionally, Moot Court would like to recognize and congratulate all the competitors and faculty coaches who participated in Interscholastic Competitions for the 2006-2007 academic year. The teams are as follows:

Sports and Entertainment Law
New Orleans, LA
Members: Diana Abboud, Ericka Johnson (Captain) & Evan Perel,
Coach: Professor Stephen Henderson

Family Law
Albany, NY
Members: Ruhi Boga, Andrei Govorov, & Kara Guzzetti (Captain)
Coach: Professor Alicia Kelly

Securities Regulation
New York, NY
Members: Brian Abrams & Drew Silow
Coach: Matthew D'Emilio

Juvenile Law
Costa Mesa, CA
Members: Kara Donoghue & John Lego (Captain)
Coach: Professor Leslie Johnson

Animal Law
Boston, Ma
Members: Nicole Hartman & Kelley Huff (Captain)
Coach: Professor Verne Smith

Criminal Procedure
Newark, NJ
Members: Steven Jones, Eric Lubin, & Michael Mattson(Captain)
Coach: Professor Lenonard Sosnov

Constitutional Law
Williamsburg, VA
Members: Denise Georges, Jennie Philip, & Derek Riker(Captain)
Coach: Professor Robert Hayman

Tax Law
Buffalo, NY
Members: Michael Cianci, Gina Daigeaun, & Aron Gold(Captain)
Coach: Professor Roberta Mann

Thanks for a job well done!
John R. Lego Moot Court V.P. Interscholastic Competitions